About the programme

The eligible area for the 2014-2020 IPA Cross-Border Programme between Albania and Kosovo covers a territory of 8,335 km2. The length of the border is 114 km. The eligible areas in Albania represent 48% of the programme area covering 2 regions composed of 8 municipalities with a total of 362 settlements. The 2 regions from Albania include the Region of Kukës and the Region of Lezha. The eligible area in Kosovo covers 52% of the programme area and includes the South Economic Region composed of 6 municipalities, and the West Economic Region composed of 6 municipalities.

The programme eligible area has a total population of 936,761 inhabitants, out of which 76% live in the Kosovo territory and 24% in Albania. In the whole programme area, the population is predominantly rural. In the regions of Kosovo, 65.9% of the population is rural, whereas in Albania rural population reaches 53.8%.map

The 2014-2020 CBC Programme Albania – Kosovo has a total EU financial allocation of € 8.4 million for the entire programming period. The Programme aims at providing assistance for cross-border cooperation in the following Thematic Priorities (TP):

  • TP1: Protecting the environment, promoting climate change adaptation and mitigation, risk prevention and management;
  • TP2: Encouraging tourism and promoting natural and cultural heritage;
  • TP3: Investing in youth, education and skills;
  • TP4: Technical Assistance.

The Technical Assistance under the Programme Albania-Kosovo is 100% financed by the European Commission and implemented by a Consortium led by the Ministry of European Integration, Albania in partnership with the Ministry of Local Government Administration, Kosovo.

Country Regions Municipalities


Kukes Kukes, Has, Tropoje
Lezha Lezha, Mirdita, Kurbin
Kosovo South Economic Region Prizren, Dragash, Rahovec, Suhareke, Malisheva, Mamusha
West  Economic Region Peja, Decan, Gjakove, Istog, Kline, Junik